Drew’s Top 25 Albums of 2010

2010 was a year of great albums with strange titles.  Let’s go through my favorite records of the year.

1. Titus Andronicus – The Baby Monitor

2. Deerhunter – Halcyon Indigestion brought to you by Pepto Bismol

3. Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Part I: Kanye Goes to Camp Dickwad

4. Arcade Fire – The Suburbs or How I Learned to Cope with my Upper Middle Class White Problems The Easy Way

5. The National – High Voluntary Manslaughter

6. The Tallest Man on Earth – Mattson Gone Wild

7. How to Dress Well – Lub Remains

8. Joanna Newsom – Have Three Albums Worth of Songs That are Each Longer than Two Songs Combined Should Be on Me

9. Mimicking Birds – “Let’s just have this album have the same name as the name we chose to name our band after.”

10. The Walkmen – Lisp On: A tribute to Isaac Brock

11. Wolf Parade – “A reference to the 80’s is so trendy right now guys, c’mon!”

12. These New Puritans – Hidden from Every Fucking Year-End List

13. Damien Jurado – “I shall call him . . . Saint Bartlett!”

14. Sun Kil Moon – Western Promises

15. Cotton Jones – Tall Hours in the Glowstream

16. Strand of Oaks – Pope Killdragon

17. Phosphorescent – Here’s to Taking it Queasy: Tales of Uncomfortable Bodily Reactions

18. Beach House – You Make Me Feel Like I’m Living a Teen Dream by Katy Perry

19. Avey Tare – The Rescuers Down Under: An Australian Rock Opera

20. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & the Cairo Gang – The Wonder Show of the World

21. Sam Amidon – I Saw the Sign, It Opened up My Eyes

22. Lower Dens –  Twin Hand Movement

23. Connan and the Mockasins – Please Turn me into the Snat

24. Avi Buffalo – “Now, I know it’s been done before,” Avigdor hesitantly mumbled, “but I think we should just go with a self-titled record this go round. Whattayasay!?”

25. LCD Soundsystem – Is this Really Happening? Seriously? Holy shit! I Can’t believe I got convinced to make another one of these monstrosities! I’m gonna go do some interviews about how much I hate this band, and how I could have totally worked with Arcade Fire if I didn’t spend all of my time on this STUPID little side project.  I could have been an SNL writer for fuck’s sake.  But no . . . I had to make three horrible albums and complain about how much I hated it! Wah. I’m James Murphy! WAH.

Real Titles:

1. Titus Andronicus – The Monitor

2. Deerhunter – Halcyon Digest

3. Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

4. Arcade Fire – The Suburbs

5. The National – High Violet

6. The Tallest Man on Earth – The Wild Hunt

7. How to Dress Well – Love Remains

8. Joanna Newsom – Have One on Me

9. Mimicking Birds – Mimicking Birds

10. The Walkmen – Lisbon

11. Wolf Parade – Expo 86

12. These New Puritans – Hidden

13. Damien Jurado – Saint Bartlett

14. Sun Kil Moon – Admiral Fell Promises

15. Cotton Jones – Tall Hours in the Glowstream

16. Strand of Oaks – Pope Killdragon

17. Phosphorescent – Here’s to Taking it Easy

18. Beach House – Teen Dream

19. Avey Tare – Down There

20. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & the Cairo Gang – The Wonder Show of the World

21. Sam Amidon – I See the Sign

22. Lower Dens – Twin Hand Movement

23. Connan and the Mockasins – Please Turn me into the Snat

24. Avi Buffalo – Avi Buffalo

25. LCD Soundsystem – This is Happening

About Drew Litowitz

Sound advice.
This entry was posted in entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

